chakra symbols

The Complete Guide To Chakra Symbols And Their Meaning

What Are Chakra Symbols?

Although there is no scientific evidence to prove the chakra’s existence and chakra symbols, it is believed that there are seven primary chakras that run along the spine, from the tailbone to the top of the head. Each of the seven chakras represents unique qualities and energies.


The chakra symbols are a form of sacred geometry, combining imagery, geometric shapes, Sanskrit letters, and colors. They represent each chakra’s energy and have rich spiritual meaning, too.


So, where did the chakra symbols come from? The shapes in the chakra symbols trace back to the five symbols of Yagna used during Vedic rituals. The five symbols of Yagna are square, circle, triangle, half-moon, and dumpling.

An easy way to spot the symbol for a particular chakra is by color. The chakra colors are:

Root Chakra (Muladhara) – Red

Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana) – Orange

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) – Yellow

Heart Chakra (Anahata) – Green

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) – Blue

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna) – Indigo

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) – Purple

The 7 Chakra Symbols And Their Meaning

One thing you will spot in each of the seven chakra symbols is a circle. Circles represent continuous movement and the cyclical nature of energy. Circle also represents unity and wholeness, and each chakra symbol contains one, as when all our chakras are balanced, we feel whole and harmonious.

The Sanskrit word for chakra is “wheel,” as the energy turns and spins like a wheel. As wheels are circular, it seems very fitting that this shape appears in each chakra symbol.

Aside from the circle, the components of each chakra symbol differ, Triangles are a common occurrence, yet their positioning determines the meaning. Moreover, each chakra symbol contains petals, creating the image of a lotus flower. The spiritual representation of a lotus flower is rebirth, but the specific number of petals one has also has its unique meaning. Therefore, let’s explore each chakra symbol independently.

Root Chakra Symbol

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine. It is responsible for our sense of safety and security in ourselves and the world around us. This center helps us remain centered, grounded, and connected to our bodies and the physical realm. The Sanskrit name Muladhara translates to “root,” “base,” or “foundation.”

The typical root chakra symbol consists of a downward-facing triangle within a square within a circle. On the outside, there are four petals.

The Inverted triangle represents pulling energy downwards and is an alchemical symbol for earth, the element of this chakra. The triangle contains the grounding energy of the first chakra, embodying the quality of stability.

The square has four sides, and this number symbolizes foundations and a stable structure. A balanced root chakra serves as a steady base to safely open the rest of the chakras.

The four petals on the root chakra lotus symbolize stability and structure as well as the four mind-states; Manas (mind), Buddhi (intellect), Chitta (consciousness), and Ahamkara (ego). The four-petaled lotus as a whole signifies the birth of human consciousness because the root chakra is the starting point.

The color red relates to self-awareness, helping you reconnect to your body and the earth. This dense color can be associated with rage, danger, and violence, which can unbalance the root chakra. However, a red hue can help you redirect your attention back to safety.

Sacral Chakra Symbol

The sacral chakra is located in the lower belly, close to the sexual organs. It is the center of our creativity, sexuality, and emotions. It governs our senses, feelings, and sexual experiences, and its element is water, representing the fluidity, flow, and movement of our emotions. The Sanskrit name Svadhishthana translates to place of the self.

The Sacral Chakra symbol consists of multiple circles, a crescent moon, and six petals on an orange lotus flower.

As mentioned earlier, circles represent the cyclical nature of birth, death, and rebirth. The sacral chakra amplifies this association as it features more than one circle. Because the sacral chakra and the water element are all about flow, a balanced third chakra will help you go with the ebbs and flows of life and stay in control of your emotions in trying times.

The crescent moon at the bottom of the inner circle is another symbol of cycles, as the moon famously completes cycles every month. Therefore, it is another reminder that life contains never-ending change and constant movement, so good emotional health is vital.

Another part of the sacral chakra symbol meaning is the six petals. They represent the six negative qualities you need to overcome to open and purify the second chakra; anger, jealousy, cruelty, hatred, pride, and desire.

In color psychology, orange is associated with happiness and creativity, which links to the Sacral Chakra’s qualities of pleasure and self-expression.


Leave a Reply